Call for proposals 2025

Every year, the Media Foundation of Sparkasse Leipzig public savings bank awards its “Prize for the Freedom and Future of the Media” which is endowed with 30,000 Euros.

The prize is intended for distinguished journalists, publishers and media institutions from around the world that are committed to the cause of protecting and expanding freedom of the press, and in doing so display a willingness to take risks, great personal commitment, persistence, courage and a firm belief in democracy.

Normally, the award ceremony takes place on 8 October every year, on the eve of 9 October that was crucial for the events in the fall of 1989. The jury consisting of the members of Foundation Council and Foundation Board decides on the award of the prize. We are awaiting your suggestions. Please notify us with a brief informal reasoning and a vita of your candidate.

The nominiation period for the "Prize for the Freedom and Future of the Media" 2024 ends on 28 February, 2025.

Please, send your nominations via email at info(at)

or to the following address:

Medienstiftung der Sparkasse Leipzig
Menckestr. 27
D-04155 Leipzig