

Press release

Leipzig Media Prize goes to a critical observer of change in **Poland**

Media Foundation of Sparkasse Leipzig honours Polish investigative journalist Tomasz Piątek with the "Prize for the Freedom and Future of the Media 2018"

Leipzig, 27 June, 2018. Polish journalist Tomasz Piątek will be awarded the Leipzig "Prize for the Freedom and Future of the Media" 2018. The prize, endowed with 30,000 euros, is awarded by Media Foundation of Sparkasse Leipzig to media professionals who strive for media freedom and independent reporting in a particularly outstanding manner, often putting at risk their own safety and well-being.

"In more than 20 years of journalistic activity, Tomasz Piątek has gained a reputation as a critical observer of societal changes in his home country but he is increasingly under pressure from government institutions," said Stephan Seeger, Managing Director of Media Foundation and Director Foundations of Sparkasse Leipzig: "Despite the increasingly difficult conditions for journalists in Poland to pursue their work independently, freely and objectively, Tomasz Piątek does not let himself be intimidated by threats in his investigative work." Piatek's case, Seeger continues, is an example of how press freedom in apparently democratic countries is increasingly coming under pressure. "The Polish government is creating as happened in Hungary before - a media law that does not promote critical journalism but restricts it. Recently in Romania, journalists who wanted to report on anti-government demonstrations were arrested. In Slovakia or Malta, investigative journalists have been murdered in recent months. We are observing these developments with great concern," Seeger explained.

This year's award ceremony to Piatek should heighten the public's attention to such developments in member states of the European Union. The "Prize for the Freedom and Future of the Media" is endowed with 30,000 euros. The award ceremony will take place on 8 October, 2018 in Leipzig. The date is on the eve of the anniversary of the Leipzig demonstrations 9 October 1989 against the regime of the German Democratic Republic. They were significant not only for Leipzig but also for for the whole of Germany, and the whole of Europe,

Laureates 2001 to 2017

2001 Professor David Protess Renate Flottau Thomas Mayer

2002

Grigory Pasko Jolana Voldánová Simone Wendler

2003

Daoud Kuttab Gideon Levy Wladimir Mostovoj

2004

James Nachtwey La Voz de Galicia Journalisten helfen Journalisten

2005

Seymour M. Hersh Anna Politkovskava † Hans-Martin Tillack Britta Petersen

2006

Fabrizio Gatti Alina Anghel Professor Volker Lilienthal

2007

Akbar Ganji Dr Wolfram Weimer Vasil Ivanov

2008

Alan Johnston Susanne Fischer Win Tin †

2009 Roberto Saviano Dušan Miljuš Ahmed Altan

2010

Sayed Yaqub Ibrahimi Kurt Westergaard Assen Yordanov

2011

Oleg Kashin Fahem Boukaddous Stefan Buchen

Ana Lilia Pérez Balász Nagy Navarro Aranka Szávuly Bettina Rühl

2013

Tongam Rina Brigitte Alfter Ides Debruvne Jörg Armbruster Martin Durm Glenn Greenwald The Guardian

2014

Aram Radomski Siegbert Schefke Roland Jahn Christoph Wonneberger

2015

Nedim Şener Jafar Panahi

2016 Can Dündar Erdem Gül

2017 Deniz Yücel Asli Erdoğan



About the laureate:

Tomasz Piątek was born in 1974 in Poland and studied linguistics in Milan. Between 1995 and 2013 he worked as a journalist for the Polish news magazine Polityka, the Italian daily La Stampa and as an expert in psycholinguistics. Since 2013 Piatek is the columnist of the second largest Polish daily newspaper Gazeta Wyborcza.

Beside his journalistic work, he is also known as an author of several novels, thrillers and fantasy books. With his nonfiction book *Macierewicz i* jego tajemnice (Macierewicz and his secrets) published in 2017, he got targeted by state organs in Poland: as in twelve columns published in the Gazeta Wyborcza, Piątek describes the connections of Antoni Macierewicz, Polish Minister of Defence, to the Russian President Vladimir Putin, the Russian intelligence service and criminal groups in Russia. On the one hand, these connections are piquant, since Macierewicz always appears as a determined opponent of Putin in the Polish public. On the other hand, Pigtek accuses the minister of being involved in illegal arms and money transactions. Instead of filing a complaint against the journalist or initiating civil-law investigations, the minister intervened with the public prosecutor's office, which assigned the case to its military division. Piatek is accused of "insulting an official during his service and in connection with his work", threatened with a sentence of up to three years of imprisonment. Piatek himself assumes that he is monitored by Polish government at the latest since the publication of his book. For the organization "Reporters Without Borders" Piqtek was the "Journalist of the Year 2017".

About the Leipzig Prize for the Freedom and Future of the Media:

Every year since 2001, the Sparkasse Leipzig Media Foundation has awarded its "Prize for the Freedom and Future of the Media" to honour journalists, publishers, and institutions that have demonstrated great personal commitment to ensuring the freedom and future of the media. The award is also intended to commemorate the Peaceful Revolution in Leipzig on 9 October 1989, during which protesters demanded "free press for a free country". (http://www.leipziger-medienstiftung.de)

Laureates 2001 to 2017

2001 Professor David Protess Renate Flottau Thomas Mayer

2002 Grigory Pasko Jolana Voldánová Simone Wendler

2003 Daoud Kuttab Gideon Levy Wladimir Mostovoj

2004

James Nachtwey La Voz de Galicia Journalisten helfen Journalisten

2005

Seymour M. Hersh Anna Politkovskaya † Hans-Martin Tillack Britta Petersen

2006

Fabrizio Gatti Alina Anghel Professor Volker Lilienthal

2007

Akbar Ganji Dr Wolfram Weimer Vasil Ivanov

Alan Johnston Susanne Fischer Win Tin †

2009

Roberto Saviano Dušan Miljuš Ahmed Altan

2010

Sayed Yaqub Ibrahimi Kurt Westergaard Assen Yordanov

2011

Oleg Kashin Fahem Boukaddous Stefan Buchen

Ana Lilia Pérez Balász Nagy Navarro Aranka Szávuly Bettina Rühl

2013

Tongam Rina Brigitte Alfter Ides Debruvne Jörg Armbruster Martin Durm Glenn Greenwald The Guardian

2014

Aram Radomski Siegbert Schefke Roland Jahn Christoph Wonneberger

2015 Nedim Şener Jafar Panahi

2016

Can Dündar Erdem Gül

2017 Deniz Yücel Asli Erdoğan